Gov’t Mule Teams With Members Of The Magpie Salute In Des Moines

via Jambase

Jam stalwarts Gov’t Mule brought their Summer Tour with The Magpie Salute to Brenton Skating Plaza in Des Moines, Iowa on Sunday night. Mule welcomed The Magpie Salute’s Rich Robinson, Marc Ford and Matt Slocum to the stage to end the evening with a collaborative encore.

The Magpie Salute opened their 11-song set in Des Moines with “High Water” off the recently released High Water I. Rich Robinson & Co. focused on originals from the LP and threw in a few covers including “Christine’s Tune” by The Flying Burrito Brothers. The band, which features three Black Crowes alums, also performed the Crowes’ classic “She Gave Good Sunflower.”

Gov’t Mule played one lengthy set to end the night in Iowa. Warren Haynes led the quartet through “Traveling Tune” from 2017’s Revolution Come … Revolution Go to kick off their performance. Next came fan favorites “Thorazine Shuffle” and “Time To Confess” along with Revolution Come … Revolution Go’s “Drawn That Way.” Then, Mule was joined by The Magpie Salute keyboardist Matt Slocum for the jam vehicle “Sco-Mule.”

The foursome went on to dig deep into their repertoire for just the second 2018 version of “Little Toy Brain.” Mule continued to focus on originals throughout the set including “Pressure Under Fire,” “Fool’s Moon,” “Left Coast Groovies” and “Brand New Angel.” The Magpie Salute’s Robinson, Ford and Slocum teamed with Gov’t Mule for a pair of covers to conclude the evening. First up was a take on The Allman Brothers Band’s “Mountain Jam,” which is based off Donovan’s “There Is A Mountain.” Then, Mule and their guests collaborated on “Cortez The Killer” by Neil Young.

Next up for Gov’t Mule and The Magpie Salute is a visit to Vetter Stone Amphitheater in Mankato, Minnesota on Tuesday night.

Gov’t Mule

Set: Traveling Tune, Thorazine Shuffle, Time To Confess, Drawn That Way, Sco-Mule (with Matt Slocum), Little Toy Brain, Pressure Under Fire, Fool’s Moon, Life Before Insanity, Wandering Child, Lay Your Burden Down, Bad Little Doggie, Burning Point, Left Coast Groovies, Brand New Angel

Encore: Mountain Jam (with Rich Robinson, Marc Ford & Matt Slocum), Cortez The Killer (with Rich Robinson, Marc Ford & Matt Slocum)