Paste your Google Webmaster Tools verification code here

Gov’t Mule Starts Island Exodus With Many Guests

via Jambase

The eighth installment of Island Exodus began on Saturday at Jewel Paradise Cove in Runaway Bay, Jamaica. Hosts Gov’t Mule gave fans at the destination event a set from the core quartet followed by a guest-filled performance to start Island Exodus 8.

Warren Haynes & Co. started the first set with an instrumental they worked into a cover of Radiohead’s “Creep.” The focus was then on originals for a few songs before Mule unveiled a “Larger Than Life” featuring an excursion into Jimi Hendrix’s “If 6 Was 9.” Leon Russell’s “Tight Rope” was reprised after New Year’s ahead of “Forsaken Savior.” A series of covers ended Mule’s first set in Jamaica this year such as CCR’s “Long As I Can See The Light,” Bob Dylan’s “Masters Of War” and Neil Young’s “Rocking In The Free World.”

Gov’t Mule kicked off the second set with “Banks Of The Deep End” and then welcomed saxophonist Ron Holloway and Soulive keyboardist Neal Evans for “Devil Likes It Slow.” The pair of guests stuck around and were aided by vocalist Nicki Bluhm, guitarist Eric Krasno and drummer Jack Ryan on “Teel Me Something Good.” A guest-filled “Take Me To The River” came next. Mule then cleared the stage for “Evermore.” From there, Marcus King reprised his recent New Year’s Run appearance by joining in on “Can’t You See” by the Marshall Tucker Band. The second set ended with a take on Billy Cobham’s “Stratus” featuring Holloway, King and Ryan. Island Exodus 8 continues later today.

Setlist (via
Set One: The 1/8 Island Jam > Creep, Monkey Hill, Whisper In Your Soul, Larger Than Life > If 6 Was 9 > Larger Than Life, Tight Rope, Forsaken Savior > Long As I Can See The Light, Masters Of War > Rocking In The Free World > Machine Gun (instrumental) > Rocking In The Free World

Set Two: Banks Of The Deep End, Devil Likes It Slow (w/ Ron Holloway & Neal Evans), Tell Me Something Good (w/ Holloway, Evans, Nicki Bluhm, Eric Krasno and Jack Ryan), Take Me To The River (w/ Holloway, Evans, Bluhm, Krasno and Ryan); Wade In The Water lyrics), Forevermore, Can’t You See (w/ Marcus King and Jack Ryan), Stratus (w/ Holloway, King & Ryan; Hottentot teases)

Encore: After Midnight (with Ron Holloway, Nicki Bluhm, Eric Krasno, Marcus King & Jack Ryan; She’s A Burglar lyrics & Power Of Love tease)